52018714297 3d1437aece k 1

On the move

6 May 2022 - 28 August 2022

Join us on a journey along religious routes, meet holy companions and visit places of pilgrimage.

People are constantly on the move. Often with a purpose. Well-thought-out or simply unavoidable. In religion 'taking to the road' is a frequently occurring and expressive motif: a path to be followed. Moved or driven by faith, people have been travelling for centuries: Biblical figures, missionaries, pilgrims, refugees...

On the move takes us on a journey along religious routes, meeting holy companions and visiting places of pilgrimage. This thematic exhibition sheds light on various aspects of being 'on the road' in religion. People have been treading such paths since the very beginning: expelled from Paradise, fleeing Pharaohs and Kings… or like countless thousands of believers, choosing to go on a pilgrimage.

Even nowadays, many believers are on the move: forced to flee because of their faith. This exhibition therefore tells a story of both past and present. And as always, we bring age-old art and heritage objects into dialogue with the work of contemporary artists.

The exhibition places religious heritage in dialogue with works by contemporary artists Sven 't Jolle, Karl Philips, Aslan Goisum and Erkan Ozgen.

Patrick van caeckenbergh2sk000049
To be expected

Fragile

16.12.22 - 26.02.23

2022 OTM webdef

On the move

5 mai 2022 - 28 août 2022

Déambulez le long de chemins marqués par la religion et de lieux de pèlerinage, avec des saints en guise de compagnons de voyage.

Les êtres humains sont constamment en mouvement, délibérément ou sous la contrainte, souvent tournés vers un but. Dans le domaine religieux aussi, le « cheminement » est un thème fréquent et notable. Voilà des siècles que, touchés ou poussés par la foi, des individus se mettent en route – personnages bibliques ou missionnaires, pèlerins ou réfugiés.

« On the move » vous entraîne dans un périple le long de chemins marqués par la religion et de lieux de pèlerinage, flanqués de saints en guise de compagnons de voyage. L'exposition thématique s'intéresse aux différentes facettes du « cheminement » au sein des religions. L'être humain chemine depuis l'aube de son histoire – chassé du Paradis, fuyant les pharaons ou les rois. Mais il y a également des milliers de croyants qui partent en pèlerinage et visitent des lieux saints.

Aujourd'hui encore, nombre de gens sont en mouvement, ayant dû partir en raison de leur foi. L'exposition relate l'histoire d'autrefois et du présent. Comme à notre habitude, nous faisons dialoguer l'art ancien et les objets du patrimoine avec les œuvres d'artistes contemporains.

Dans l'exposition, des œuvres d'artistes dont Hieronymus Cock, Heinrich Bünting et le Maître d'Elsloo dialoguent avec celles d'artistes contemporains : Sven 't Jolle, Artur Zmijewski, Erkan Ozgen et Aslan Ġoisum.